GEMC Walter Harrison Scholarship

WalterHarrisonScholarshipLogoEach year Georgia Electric Membership Corporation awards several academic scholarships to deserving, hard working high school seniors.  The scholarships are awarded in honor of Walter Harrison, an early leader of the electric cooperative movement in Georgia.  Students from each electric co-op submit applications and an essay, which is judged by an impartial panel.  The statewide winners are announced in April.

Students applying for this scholarship must live in a house that receives electric service from Rayle EMC.

If your power provider is a different EMC, you must submit your application directly to that EMC. Georgia Power or MEAG customers are not eligible.

The application may be downloaded from the PDF link below. To request a scholarship application, contact any Rayle EMC office or call (706) 678-2116. Applications may be submitted to the nearest co-op office, or mailed to Rayle EMC, Walter Harrison Scholarship, P.O. Box 1090, Washington, GA 30673. Deadline for submitting applications is Jan. 20, 2023.