Rayle EMC Accepting Scholarship Applications

Rayle EMC is once again accepting applications for the prestigious Walter Harrison Scholarship. This year, 10 scholarships will be awarded to students throughout Georgia, and Rayle EMC can submit two applications for consideration of these scholarships.

Sponsored by Georgia’s 41 electric cooperatives, including Rayle EMC, the $1,000 Walter Harrison Scholarship can be used for academic expenses at any accredited two- or four-year university, college or technical institute in Georgia.

“We’re proud to offer financial assistance where possible, and the Walter Harrison Scholarship can help families offset the rising cost of college,” says Rayle EMC General Manager Tony Griffin. “To be a good community citizen, we have an obligation to help young people. Whether it’s through the Washington Youth Tour, wiring contests or scholarships, this is how we do it.”

Walter Harrison scholarships are awarded annually to students with exemplary academic records. Grade point average, SAT scores, academic standing, scholastic honors and financial need are considered when determining a student’s eligibility. A scholarship committee comprised of directors, managers, key staff, or others as appropriate at Georgia’s 41 EMCs seeks to award scholarships to remarkable students who otherwise may be unable to afford college.

The application process is currently underway, and students applying for the scholarship must be accepted or enrolled in an accredited undergraduate degree program, must complete a two-page application and write a two-page autobiographical sketch which includes future plans. The scholarship is available to any college-level student regardless of age.

Finally, to be eligible for the scholarship, students and their families must be members of Rayle EMC and reside within the co-op’s service area.

Created in 1985 by Georgia EMC, a trade association representing the electric cooperatives in Georgia, the Walter Harrison Scholarship program pays tribute to the late Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electric movement and a leader at local, state and national levels.

Rayle EMC recognizes that not all applicants can receive the Walter Harrison Scholarship, so its board of directors implemented a local scholarship program that has grown from two $500 annual scholarships to seven $1,000 annual scholarships. Rayle EMC scholarships of $1,000 each are awarded annually to students from each of the five Directorate Districts and two at-large, using the same criteria used for selection of the two Walter Harrison Scholarship nominations.

Entries for the Rayle EMC scholarships are reviewed by volunteer educational professionals not employed by the cooperative.

To request a scholarship application, contact any Rayle EMC office or call (706) 678-2116. Applications may be submitted to the nearest co-op office or mailed to Rayle EMC, Walter Harrison Scholarship, P.O. Box 1090, Washington, GA 30673. Deadline for submitting applications is Jan. 18, 2019.

Rayle EMC is a member-owned cooperative providing electricity to more than 14,000 members in Wilkes, Lincoln, Greene, Morgan, Taliaferro, Hancock, Oglethorpe, Clarke, Madison and Oconee counties.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp.

Walter Harrison Scholarship Application